Watch The Women Compete Live This Week From VPS China!

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Poppy Starr Olsen. Photo via VPS


The 4th annual Vans Park Series 2019 Pro Tour Heads to Shanghai, China May 17-18 and you can watch the women compete LIVE!


LIVE BROADCAST AIRS ON MAY 17-18

Watch it all go down at  vansparkseries.com


TIMES FOR WOMEN'S FINALS

Los Angeles – 9pm to 10pm (Friday, May 17)
New York – 12am to 1am  (Saturday, May 18)
London – 5am to 6am  (Saturday, May 18)
Sao Paulo – 1am to 2am (Saturday, May 18)
Sydney – 2pm to 3pm (Saturday, May 18)



Costa Mesa, CALIF. (May 8, 2019) – Vans Park Series is prepping the field for the world’s best professional park terrain skateboarders to meet in Shanghai, China to kick off the 2019 VPS Pro Tour. Established in 2016, Vans Park Series has journeyed to inspire youth around the world by promoting skateboarding’s creative culture and its renowned showcase of park terrain competition, now in its fourth consecutive season.

VPS Select Men and Women Pros will go head-to-head with Challengers and Wildcards at the first stop of the season in Shanghai, China on May 17-18. The Yangpu Shipyard, where the tour opener will take place, is located in the northern part of Shanghai’s city center, at the waterfront of the Huangpu River and the original industrial heart of Shanghai.

Some of the notable female athletes include Sakura Yosozumi who made a name for herself at her first VPS podium appearance at the 2017 Asian Championships in Singapore, Lizzie Armanto, one of the fierce females leading the charge in skate will be one of the tour wildcards, and Brighton Zeuner, the defending 2018 VPS Women’s World Champion who continues to inspire with her unique style on and off the board. Others to watch are Hawaiian-native Jordyn Barratt, Brazilian standout Yndiara Asp, and Poppy Olsen, the 18-year-old Aussie winner of this year’s VPS Oceania Regional Championships.

This year marks the second time the Park Series comes to Shanghai, and additionally marks the 30th anniversary of skateboarding in China. In honor of this anniversary, Vans Legend Steve Caballero, the first pro skateboarder to ever visit China in 1994, will be making a return visit to support and cheer on the Vans Park Series competitors.

Tony Hawk will make his Vans Park Series Commentator Debut on Live Broadcast as well!

Known for its unrivaled combination of speed, style, flow, amplitude and creativity, park terrain is the fastest growing discipline in competitive skateboarding today. The Park Series has made historic progress in the evolution of professional skateboarding and champions its reputation as the first premier league for the park terrain skateboarding discipline.

The 2019 Vans Park Series Pro Tour will be streamed live on vansparkseries.com, and can also be viewed in mainland China through a livestreaming partnership with Tencent. The final roster of select pros, challengers and wildcards for the 2019 VPS Pro Tour is now available online at vansparkseries.com.



2019 VANS PARK SERIES - PRO TOUR SCHEDULE


Pro Tour

Shanghai, China      May 17-18, 2019

São Paulo, Brazil    June 22-23, 2019

Montréal, Canada   July 12-13, 2019

Paris-Chelles, France   August 9-10, 2019


World Championships

Salt Lake City, United States    September 6-7, 2019



Women’s Format

5 skater Heats for Prelims and Semi-Finals

4 runs each

Best run counts

Max 40 seconds or skate until you fall

Top 5 from Prelims advance to Semifinals

They meet the pre-seeded Select Pros (8) and Tour Wildcards (2)

Top 8 from Semi-Finals advance to Finals

Same format In the Finals: First wall rebate on last run only, one time only, clock resets



Women's Prize Purse

1st: $20,000
2nd: $15,000
3rd: $10,000
4th: $5,000
5th: $4,000
6th: $3,000
7th: $2,000
8th: $1,500
9th-15th $1,000

No comments :

What's up?

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.