Watch The Women Compete In Street & Park At X-Games - Starting Thursday!

Wednesday, July 31, 2019

Misugu at Boise Qualifiers - photo via X-Games


X-Games Minneapolis is going to be full of surprises this year - especially in Women's Park! Two of the three women who were on podium last year won't be competing this time around.  Gold medalist, Brighton Zeuner, is out with an injury and Sabre Norris, last years silver medalist is unable to attend. Sakura Yosozumi who took home the bronze last year will be competing.

Jordyn Barratt is another past X-Games medalist that is out this year due to a recent injury. It's a bummer because Jordyn always keeps the energy up and pushes not only herself but the rest of the field. All these ladies will be missed.


There will be quite a few new young faces this year, and the power and tricks they bring is something to look forward to.

Here are a few of the women's park skaters, age fifteen and under,  that you should keep your eye on and WHY.

MINNA STESS thirteen-year-old Minna Stess was an alternate a few years back at X-Games but this is her first year competing in the finals and she has been on fire recently. Look for varying runs with numerous tricks on each wall. Minna is ripping harder than ever and you'd never guess she is coming off a big injury.

COCONA HIRAKI is the youngest competitor in women's park at just ten years old. She hails from Japan and this young girl is having no trouble keeping up with the seasoned veterans. Her style is reminiscent of a young Christian Hosoi.

SKY BROWN is eleven years old and you may know her, not only from skateboarding, but also from her recent win on Dancing With the Stars. This will be her first X-Games. Sky only started competing on the circuit recently, but has been moving her way up the leader board.

MISUGU OKAMOTO is twelve years old and if you've been hearing about a young girl throwing down 540 McTwists about 4-5 feet out of the bowl, this is the girl they are talking about. Her consistency and poise under pressure has been landing her in the first place spot at the last three comps. We expect more of the same here.

BRYCE WETTSTEIN  at fifteen years old, this seems to be Bryce's year, she is coming into her own and her runs are solid and flow nicely. If you watched her at qualifiers in Boise you know she is determined to make a good showing here.



WOMEN'S PARK FINAL COMPETITORS

Lizzie Armanto
Sky Brown
Nicole Hause
Cocona Hiraki
Kihana Ogawa
Misugu Okamoto
Poppy Starr Olsen
Minna Stess
Kody Tamanaha
Mami Tezuka
Bryce Wettstein
Sakura Yosozumi



Leticia Bufoni at last yaers X-Games - Photo via X-Games









Here are some ladies to keep your eye on in the women's street qualifiers - again, new faces and some serious skating happening!

Veterans like Lacey Baker, Leticia Bufoni, Alexis Sablone, Mariah Duran, Samarria Brevard, Pamela Rosa, Aori Nishimura and Candy Jacobs will bring their A game as always. But watch out for eleven year old Rayssa Leal and skate veteran, Alana Smith, who is back to skating after a long hiatus - these two are on fire, and it will be a battle.


WOMEN'S STREET QUALIFIER COMPETITORS

Lacey Baker
Samarria Brevard
Leticia Bufoni
Mariah Duran
Kristin Ebeling
Nanaka Fujisawa
Meagan Guy
Candy Jacobs
Rayssa Leal
Funa Nakayama
Aori Nishimura
Momiji Nishiya
Yumeka Oda
Poe Pinson
Pamela Rosa
Alexis Sablone
Alana Smith


  
WHERE & WHEN TO WATCH


THURSDAY 1 PM PT / 3 PM CT / 4 PM ET 

Watch the Women's Street Prelims on Youtube streamed live ---->  HERE


FRIDAY 5:30 PM PT / 7:30 PM CT / 8:30 PM ET

Watch the Women's Park Finals on ESPN


SUNDAY 12:45 PT / 2:45 CT / 3:45 ET

Watch the Women's Street Finals on ABC


No comments :

What's up?

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.