A Perfect Ending To A Crazy Year.

Friday, December 31, 2021

Photo Bryce Kanights for USA Skateboarding

Olympic Park skateboarders Sakura Yosozumi, Cocona Hiraki, Sky Brown, Poppy Olsen, Bryce Wettstein, Dora Varella and Yndiara Asp have been awarded the Tokyo 2020 Fair Play Award that honors extraordinary acts of sportsmanship during the Olympic Games

The award was given after the women surrounded the reigning world champion, Misugu Okamoto, and lifted her onto their shoulders following her fall at the Games.

Throughout Olympic trials Okamoto was considered the favorite to win gold in Tokyo. She narrowly missed the podium finishing fourth and stopping a clean sweep for Japan.

This accolade is given out by the International Fair Play Committee (CIFP), who have been recognizing sportsmanship at the Games since Beijing 2008.

Tonight 2021 ends and we have 2022 to look forward to, but if this is any indication where women's skateboarding is headed, things are looking good!

 Happy New Year!!


No comments :

What's up?

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.